American Association of Petroleum Geologists

AAPG Geoscience and Energy Office in Washington DC
February 2, 2007

Natural Resources Committee Announces Subcommittee Lineup

WASHINGTON, D.C. - House Natural Resources Committee Chairman Nick J. Rahall (D-WV) and Ranking Member Don Young (R-AK) today announced the roster of Members who will serve on each subcommittee for the 110^th Congress.

"I am pleased to welcome a host of new subcommittee leaders and Members, both new and returning, who will use their expertise to help guide this committee," Rahall said. "The gamut of issues the committee will address in the coming months is broad - from public lands and forests, to fish and wildlife, and Native American and Insular affairs. I am confident that we can work together with a shared interest in governing these matters that enrich our nation and all of its inhabitants."

"This is a strong group of knowledgeable Members who offer a lot of expertise on the issues associated with this diverse group of subcommittees," said Young. "I look forward to working closely with all of them on the important resources issues facing our nation this session."

Listed below is the full membership of the five subcommittees for the 110th Congress:

Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources:

  • Chairman: Jim Costa (CA)
  • Ranking Republican Member: Stevan Pearce (NM)
  • Democrats: Eni F. H. Faleomavaega (AS), Solomon P. Ortiz (TX), Rush D. Holt (NJ), Dan Boren (OK), Maurice D. Hinchey (NY), Patrick J. Kennedy (RI), and Hilda L. Solis (CA).
  • Republicans: Bobby Jindal (LA), Louie Gohmert (TX), Bill Shuster (PA), Dean Heller (NV), and Bill Sali (ID).

Subcommittee on Fisheries, Wildlife, and Oceans:

  • Chairwoman: Madeleine Z. Bordallo (GU)
  • Ranking Republican Member: /Henry E. Brown, Jr. (SC)/
  • Democrats: Dale E. Kildee (MI), Eni F. H. Faleomavaega (AS), Neil Abercrombie (HI), Solomon P. Ortiz (TX), Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ), Patrick J. Kennedy (RI), Ron Kind (WI), and Lois Capps (CA).
  • Republicans: Jim Saxton (NJ), Wayne Gilchrest (MD), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA), Bobby Jindal (LA), Tom Cole (OK), and Bill Sali (ID).

Subcommittee on Insular Affairs:

  • Chairwoman: Donna M. Christensen (VI)
  • Ranking Republican Member: Luis G. Fortuño (PR)
  • Democrats: Eni F. H. Faleomavaega (AS), Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ), and Madeleine Z. Bordallo.
  • Republicans: Elton Gallegly (CA), and Jeff Flake (AZ).

Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests, and Public Lands:

  • Chairman: Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ)
  • Ranking Republican Member: Rob Bishop (UT)/
  • Democrats: Dale E. Kildee (MI), Neil Abercrombie (HI), Donna M. Christensen (VI), Rush D. Holt (NJ), Dan Boren (OK), John P. Sarbanes (MD), Peter A. DeFazio (OR), Maurice D. Hinchey (NY), Ron Kind (WI), Lois Capps (CA), Jay Inslee (WA), Mark Udall (CO), Stephanie Herseth (SD), and Heath Shuler (NC).
  • Republicans: John J. Duncan, Jr. (TN), Chris Cannon (UT), Thomas G. Tancredo (CO), Jeff Flake (AZ), Rick Renzi (AZ), Stevan Pearce (NM), Henry E. Brown, Jr. (SC), Louie Gohmert (TX), Tom Cole (OK), Dean Heller (NV), Bill Sali (ID), and Doug Lamborn (CO).

Subcommittee on Water and Power:

  • Chairwoman: Grace F. Napolitano (CA)
  • Ranking Republican Member: Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA)
  • Democrats: Jim Costa (CA), George Miller (CA), Mark Udall (CO), Joe Baca (CA), and Hilda L. Solis (CA).
  • Republicans: Ken Calvert (CA), Dean Heller (NV), and Doug Lamborn (CO).

Chairman Rahall and Ranking Member Young will serve as ex officio members of each subcommittee.

American Association of Petroleum Geologists
Mailing Address: P. O. Box 979 • Tulsa, OK 74101-0979 • USA
Street Address: 1444 S. Boulder • Tulsa, OK 74119 • USA
Shipping Address: 125 West 15th Street • Tulsa, OK 74119 • USA
Phone: +1 918 584-2555 • Fax: +1 918 560-2665
Toll Free: 1-800-364-AAPG (2274) US and Canada only